Mindfulness in Bali

It hasn’t even been 48 hours since I’ve been back home from Bali…. And I literally could have died this morning. Slight exaggeration as there could have been a worse outcome, but still, a very true statement.

On my drive to work today, I got into a bad car accident. The kind of bad that bursted out the loudest crunching sound at a 50 mph impact, shooting me into my deployed airbag in the middle of the highway. Oh, and let’s note that the other car involved fled the scene while the engine blew smoke into my face.

Wear your seat belt kids!

IMG_1778

I was a bit frazzled. No immediate injuries except soreness however, my adrenaline died into some back and abdominal pain. I’m in somewhat good spirits, not necessarily upset or discouraged. I’m more overwhelmed about how fast the world’s been spinning lately. You just never know what’s going to happen next.

 

You never know what worse luck your bad luck has saved you from. – Cormac McCarthy

Sometimes, I like to ask people, “If you knew you were going to die today, would you have been satisfied with the life you lived?” I always answer yes.

Don’t get me wrong, of course I’d want to live more than 26 years. There are so, sosooooo many things I’ve yet to experience: love, marriage, kids, more traveling, changing the world, etc. There will always be more that I wish I had done but then again, there is also a lot that has already been done. So yeah, if I were to die, I’d like to believe I would be okay with what’s happened in my short time.

Bali being one of those things.

IMG_1401

There are some days when I think I am going to die from an overdose of satisfaction. – Salvador Dali

The trip was balls deep amazing. Some snippet memories: volcano sunrise hike, monkey forest, teaching 6th graders, butts, ‘concentrated’ new friends, batik painting, water temple, bintang, swimming in the rainstorm, rice fields, Balinese dance show, monkey poo coffee, Cupit, flower blessings, language class, Bali Hai scuba diving, surfing Seminyak, alleyway motorbikes, and so much more.

There was a moment while riding along the current during scuba diving where I thought to myself, what more could I ask for? All my senses were tingling with happiness; an internal smile. It couldn’t have been done without the people I met there. The stories we shared, the laughter we stormed up, the bonds we created, the adventures we went on; everything and all of it.

IMG_1510

There are times I am bewildered by each while I have traveled, each meal I have eaten, each person I have known, each room in which I have slept. As ordinary as it all appears, there are times when it is beyond my imagination. – Jhumpa Lahiri

During the last two days on the island, I connected with a specific person on a much deeper level. We talked about what we wanted to do when we ‘grew up’; what things we wanted to see in the world, in ourselves; where we wanted to go; and what brought us to where were were: on the other side of the world among strangers.

Those were true moments to be cherished; the ones where you feel understood and completely yourself by listening to someone else’s journey. It’s simple, yet unique. Intellectual, yet easy going. Fun, encouraging, honest.

At this rate, I think a person is living a successful life if the good moments outweigh the bad ones. And the best way travel, to live, and to have these moments? Mindfulness: “State of active, open attention on the present; instead of letting your life pass you by; living in the moment and awakening to experience.”

IMG_1715

I’ve fallen in love with almost everyone I’ve met in my life. I’ve fallen in love with everything in my life. I can’t explain it and I have no idea if it’s ever a mutual feeling, but I can’t help to think it all falls into place the way it’s supposed to.

I’m typically grateful for the small things that come and go in my life. As cliché as it may be, it’s true, don’t take things for granted. I couldn’t possibly have asked for a better trip to Bali. I mean, who would of thought that my life would flash before me today?

I’ll blog about the actual Bali activities at a later time, but I just needed to write this for now to express how I am feeling.

I think I am due for a hug.

One thought on “Mindfulness in Bali

Leave a Reply

